Tag: elections

Wythenshawe voters urged to register as every council seat is up for grabs in May


Voters who are not registered to vote are being urged to do so as the countdown begins to Manchester City Council local elections, on Thursday May 3.

New ward boundaries will come into effect at the elections, following an electoral review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.  As a result, electors will have the opportunity to vote for three candidates in each of the five Wythenshawe wards – Woodhouse Park, Sharston, Baguley, Brooklands and Northenden.

To take part, people must be registered to vote.  Anyone not already registered must do it before Tuesday April 17 2018, buy visiting http://www.gov.uk/register-to-vote.

Anyone who is registered to vote can also choose to vote by post, or by proxy.  Applications for a postal vote must be received by 5pm on Wednesday 18 April 2018.  The deadline for the receipt of proxy vote applications is 5pm on Wednesday 25 April 2018.

Electors will receive poll cards, which will confirm their voting arrangements, from Friday 23 March 2018 onwards.  An online polling station checker is also available at http://www.manchester.gov.uk/pollingstations.

A full list of candidates will be published at 4pm on Monday 9 April 2018.  The count and declaration for the local election results will take place on Friday 4 May 2018.

Joanne Roney OBE, Returning Officer for Manchester, said: “This election gives Manchester residents the opportunity to elect the councillors who will represent them locally.

“It’s vital that nobody loses out on their right to vote, so please make sure that you are registered to have your say by Tuesday 17 April.”

To find out more about the ward boundary changes and the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s Electoral Review of Manchester, visit http://www.lgbce.org.uk.

It’s a Lib Dem-olition in Manchester council elections

The Liberal Democrats have lost their last seat in Wythenshawe as the party was wiped out in Manchester.

Mary Di Mauro was beaten in Northenden by Labour’s Sarah Russell.

And Labour swept the board across the city,  taking all nine of the last remaining Lib Dem seats. It means that Manchester is now virtually a one party city.

Labour has 95 of the 96 council seats. The only opposition is an independent Labour councillor.

The Euro sceptic UKIP failed to capitalise on their recent challenge in the Wythenshawe by-election and take a seat, but finished second in a number of wards, including Baguley, Brooklands, Woodhouse Park and Sharston.

Wythenshawe results

BAGULEY                                                                                                               BROWN Rhona Eva Elizabeth  Liberal Democrat                                     62                                          CLEMENTS Frank  Green Party                                                              116                                                              FLEMING Ian George UK Independence Party                                        602        RAWLINS Tracey Labour and Cooperative Party Candidate          1544                            WOODS Stephen Paul The Conservative Party Candidate                     247 WORTHINGTON Lynn Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts         64

BROOKLANDS                                                                                                ELLERTON Ralph John The Conservative Party Candidate                    507
MOORCROFT Joel Liberal Democrat                                                      101
MURPHY Sue Labour and Cooperative Party Candidate               1464
QUINN Eithne Green Party                                                                       159
SPOOR Anne UK Independence Party                                                     734

NORTHENDEN                                                                                                          DI MAURO Mary Eileen Liberal Democrats                                               514
EDGE Simon Green Party                                                                         351
GREEN Fiona Mary The Conservative Party Candidate                           471
RUSSELL Sarah Labour Party Candidate                                           1842

SHARSTON (2 SEATS)                                                                                              BARRETT Hugh Labour Party Candidate                                            1406
BURKE Bob UK Independence Party                                                         848
HIGGINS Catherine Respect (George Galloway)                                       141
HUNT Alison Green Party                                                                           216
MONAGHAN Madeleine Labour Party Candidate                               1450
MORGAN David The Conservative Party Candidate                                  307
SUMMERILL Robert Liberal Democrat                                                          89
YORKE-DAVENPORT John Frazer Liberal Democrats                               142

WOODHOUSE PARK                                                                                 BANNISTER Colin Anthony Liberal Democrat                                                56
MCHUGH Stephen James The Conservative Party Candidate                     177
MOLTENO May Green Party                                                                        123
NEWMAN Edward Labour Party Candidate                                            1486
WELCH Tony UK Independence Party                                                          563